Sunday, May 27, 2012

Enchanted by Alethea Kontis
308 pgs.
Target audience: Young Adult
Rating: Dragon

Synopsis from inside front cover

"It isn't easy being Sunday's child, not when you're the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday's only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes as a terrible tendency to come true.
     When Sunday meets an echanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night, Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland -- and a man Sunday's family despises.
     The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction to this prince she barely knows? and what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past -- and hers?"

First I must say that I simply adore fairy tales and the only thing better is retelling fairy tales and Alethea Kontis most definitely has the gift. From the synopsis you'd think it was a simple Frog Prince story, but oh no, this story is so much more. Into the love story of Sunday Woodcutter and her handsome frog turned prince, she weaves subtle hints and flavorings of many other tales including Cinderella, Princess and the Pea, Sleeping Beauty, Jack and the Beanstalk, Warrior Princess, Rumpelstiltskin, and The Old Woman Who Lived in a Shoe. She does this so seemlessly throughout the book that you don't even notice at first -- it's just part of the story. This technique gives it depth and richness.

"Monday's child is fair of face,
Tuesday's child is full of grace.
Wednesday's child is full of woe.
Thursday's child hsa far to go.
Friday's child is loving and giving.
Saturday's child works hard for a living.
But the child who is born on the Sabbath Day
Is blithe and bonny and good and gay."

I loved this verse and how the meanings were slowly revealed as the story progressed. I found myself going back and re-reading the lines when certain sisters were highlighted. The two meddling fairy godmothers good and evil were aptly named as Joy and Sorrow. All the threads are brought together in the end making this a wondrous, romatic and ethereal fantasy.I enjoyed this book immensely and look forward to more from this author. Perfect for fans of Jessica Day George.

No comments:

Post a Comment